What A Gift…

“The ways by which you may get money almost without exception lead downward. To have done anything by which you earned money merely is to have been truly idle or worse. If the laborer gets no more than the wages which his employer pays him, he is cheated, he cheats himself.” – Henry David Thoreau

The more I think about it, the more I realize how beautiful this gift of sudden unemployment is. In some way, I have been hoping for this for years. But for it to have come earlier would not have been ideal. The reason it is so wonderful is the timing. I needed this precisely at this time. It is this kind of realization that makes me feel that God truly is, quietly, subtly, in my corner.

In about a month, I will have my license to practice massage therapy in Ohio. Watch out world! But what is amazing is the perfect two months preceding that time, during which I can attend to the printing of business cards, or the scoping of the job scene, and truly taking the time to understand where I want to go with this, what is right for me. To do this while fully employed would have been impossible. My schedule is wide open for interviews and applying. And this time at home has given me the ability to really think about what it means to go to work each day. I must be able to make others happy and be treated with dignity; modern practices of clocking in and out, logging my every move, and being under constant supervision are behind me now. I refuse to accept such circumstances in my future. Perhaps those from another generation or way of life would say I am being picky, prideful, or unwise in limiting my prospects so. But I say I am a beautiful creation of God, perfectly imperfect, not here to be watched and subjected to the will of others if I desire not to be. Perhaps it is in the spirit of May Day, yesterday, that I feel this revelation in a different kind of workers’ rights, a more subtle and profound kind. Who knows, maybe I’ll set up shop for myself! I’ve got the time…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. maria
    May 03, 2012 @ 01:46:56

    I say…go and follow the leading of The Spirit. When you listen to yourself, and trust yourself, you can not go wrong!

    Go for it!

    m.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

