Poor Logan has …

Poor Logan has had a recurring ear infection off an on, despite veterinary medications. We’ve gone through three tiny squeeze bottles, countless cotton swabs, and always it comes back. He has floppy ears so he’s prone.

It’s no longer feasible, or justifiable, to continue spending money on these medications. I found a recipe for a home remedy: 1 part witch hazel, 1 part apple cider vinegar.

I have half a bottle of witch hazel left – I used to use it as toner for my face, but I no longer need it thanks to my hygiene/beauty regimen. More on that later. 🙂

All I needed to buy was a $4 bottle of apple cider vinegar, and we are in business! I funneled the vinegar into the other bottle, and it works perfect as a squeeze bottle. The first time I tried this, Logan was shocked at having something squirted into his ear with such volume and speed. He shook his head back and forth, and ear wax actually flew out in mass amounts, so it was definitely successful in breaking it up. If your dog doesn’t like the idea of squirting, you may want to assign a wash cloth just for him and apply the solution to the cloth before working it in.

I’m usually an advocate of self-sufficiency and frugality, but this took me to a whole new level. Being able to care for my dog naturally, and work within my means, is truly gratifying and gives me a sense of pride.

Happy dog!

Aside

Leave a Reply

